LENITZ, Valley of

The first elements of the valley. The valley was originally made up of the villages of Arrasate-Mondragón, Gatzaga, Aretxabaleta and Eskoriatza, the first being the most important and best situated for defence. Mondragón separated from the valley in 1260, becoming an independent town, with the other three villages forming part of it. Salinas also broke away in 1331, having obtained the same title, so that Léniz was reduced to Aretxabaleta and Eskoriatza, with their respective parishes.